IU Football: Howard Added To Maxwell Award Watch List

Indiana running back Jordan Howard was added to the 2015 Maxwell Award watch list. Read more in the following release, courtesy of IU Athletics:

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – The Maxwell Football Club today announced the expansion of its 2015 Watch List for the 79th Maxwell Award and Indiana running back Jordan Howard is one of seven additions. The junior joins senior quarterback Nate Sudfeld as a candidate for the prestigious honor.

Howard is seventh nationally with 141.8 rushing yards per game (first in the Big Ten), tied for ninth with 125 carries (third), 11th with 709 rushing yards (second), 12th with 158.6 all-purpose yards per game (second) and 19th with 793 all-purpose yards (third). He owns four touchdowns and has eight receptions for 84 yards.

Howard became the only FBS player in the last 20 seasons with 140-plus rushing yards in each of his first four games with a program and owns 15 career 100-yard games, including in eight of his last nine, and 10 150-yard performances. Of his 125 carries, 38 (30.4 percent) have resulted in either a first down or a score and 115 (92.0) have gone for positive yardage.

Since the start of 2013, Howard is first nationally among active backs with 576 attempts and 10 150-yard games, second with 3,177 rushing yards, fourth with 122.0 all-purpose yards per game, fifth with 3,416 yards from scrimmage, sixth with 113.5 rushing yards per game and 15 100-yard games, seventh with 122.0 yards from scrimmage per game and 3,416 all-purpose yards, and tied for eighth with two 200-yard games.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell. Marcus Mariota of Oregon was the recipient of the 78th Maxwell Award.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced on November 2nd and three finalists will be announced November 24th. The winner of the 2015 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show which will be held on December 10th at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Tropicana Hotel & Casino Atlantic City on March 11, 2016.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club’s Selection Committee and the Maxwell Club reserves the right to make additions and subtractions to these lists as the 2015 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA Sports Information Directors, Head Coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for these awards.

The Maxwell Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 720 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.

Beginning in 2015, The Home Depot College Football Awards will have a new home at the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta. Airing live on ESPN on December 10, 2015, college football’s brightest stars will be honored for their performance on and off the field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *